young love

First comes love, then comes marriage, then comes baby in the baby carriage.
20140317-170621.jpg

Well, in our case that’s totally the order it happened && fast. I can’t really comment on the timing being good or bad// it’s all I know. When I think back on the dating years I often times ask myself what I’d change. Like for instance my husband and I met very young and though we were friends for a long time before we were boyfriend and girlfriend we still started dating very young. Dating your future spouse when you’re like sixteen/seventeen is gnarly. It’s a huge responsibility and it brings up quite a few struggles over the years. However it’s also awesome and protects you from other struggles. It’s a weird space for sure. We often joke about how our kids are never going to date as young as we did…. But what if we followed our own rule?! Would we still be here today?! I DON’T KNOW! That’s the problem! There is no way to know!

Would we have more money if we focused on really digging deep into our careers before gettin hitched? Probably.

Would we have more possessions? Probably.

Would we have cooler cars or a more hip house?
Probably.

But would we be happier?
PROBABLY NOT!

Marriage is a tricky dance and there are obstacles that come up frequently but I’m thankful to have a partner who knows me and I know. Like we really know each other. We grew up together. We know each other in and out of season. We know the tones, the looks, and even the subtle silent body language. We certainly aren’t perfect. We don’t have it all figured out and we are far from accomplishing all of our goals but we are on our way! We love purely and we are not jaded by the world.

Can I say I have zero regrets? Certainly not! But if I had a do over would I make tons of changes? Certainly not! All of our choices have brought us to where were are today and where we are today is sweet.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “young love

  1. Amy Engelsman says:

    This is oh so sweet…and so relatable! Your candid honesty makes me smile:-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

