“Like a good crusty bread”

So I have started reading books again.

Books I want to read, not have to read.

Not books about pregnancy, breastfeeding, co-sleeping, etc etc.

Books for enjoyment, for pleasure, for entertainment!

And you know what? I love it!

One of the first ones that I dove into was by Shauna Niequist  entitled “Bread and Wine”

        04fef9e998d2f0815e592bc677074869

–You guys. —

This book spoke to me. It was so truthful, soul-stirring and heart warming.

There were chapters I laughed, some that I wept in and some that challenged me deep down to my core.

Each chapter is followed by a particular recipe that coincides with the story. I have tried 90% of the recipes in this book and they are all amaze-town USA.

Beyond delicious, super easy and everyone raves about them.

The blueberry crisp. Please. We made that sucker at least once a week this summer. I had friends ask to come over just to eat that!

d5d3608705f6658d807624d0a4fbe4b2

photo cred: brittanydphotographyblog.com

I don’t even think they cared that I was there!

The best part of the book for me, was the section where Shauna talks about communion. She broke it down in such a way that I was weeping sitting on a dock staring out at the lake. I had never heard it explained like this and I thought I would share it with you all.

“Body of Christ, broken for you. Blood of Christ, shed for you.” “Every time you eat the bread and drink the wine,” Jesus says, “remember me.” Communion is a connection, a remembrance. “My friend Shane says the genius of communion, of bread and wine, is that bread is the food of the poor and wine the drink of the privileged, and that every time we see those two together, we are reminded of what we share instead of what divides us.” – Shauna Niequist, Bread and Wine.

I just loved that! We are together in this! We are one body of Christ. So go out, encourage and love on one another!

I would highly encourage you pick this book up, and all of her other ones as well!

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on ““Like a good crusty bread”

  1. Bethany Sloan says:

    twice this book was recommended to me today! now I just gotta read it. 🙂

    P.S. One of the mamas at Nurture made one of the recipes for our table potluck today! Delish. (banana, oats, choc chips, coconut oil, etc.)

    P.P.S. love that image of communion!

  2. Ange says:

    Love this book!!

  3. Kiva says:

    The explanation of communion was so awesome! Fabulous post!

  4. Ashley says:

    Loved this book! And we make the blueberry (also made at our house with any delightful fruit of our choosing: apple, pears, peaches, berries and a combination of the above) crisp on the regular!

Leave a Reply

