Girls Getaway Turned Mama Moment

Over the weekend I went about an hour north and enjoyed the sunshine of the City of Angels. ||LA||

20140113-110050.jpg

20140113-110127.jpg

20140113-110242.jpg It was my sister’s birthday so it was the perfect excuse to leave the babies with their dada and eat unbelievably delicious food, engage in tons of girl talk, && shop! We discover some amazing little thrift stores and just wandered around to our next adventure.

20140113-110633.jpg

20140113-110709.jpg

20140113-110744.jpg It was so much fun BUT man this mama missed her babies! Am I the only one who’s like, “GIRL TIME! GIRL TIME! WOO!” Fast forward a few hours and I’m stalking my husbands insta for photos and texting him for updates?! My guess is that it comes with the territory…. But maybe I’m just a little obsessed with them, and if that’s the case I’m totally fine with it. I mean who could blame me? They are as sweet and full of personality as can be and cute to boot! I mean. Yeah! I’m fully obsessed. Being a mom does something so gnarly to your heart. It has created a level of ownership in me that I’ve never had before. I 100% believe that my babies belong to God before they belong to me. He created them and loves them even more than i do. BUT He chose me! I repeat ||HE CHOSE ME TO BE THEIR MAMA|| that is huge && I certainly do not take it lightly. I have been commission to train them and teach them in the ways of The Lord. It is my job to pour into them with love, affection, knowledge, creativity, adventure, and deep passion. I am privileged to stay home with them daily. Of course I make claims about wanting to get away and needing a break from time to time but the relationship I have with them has changed me at a core level and I never want to put distance there. There is absolutely nothing wrong with having time to yourself. There is nothing wrong with going away for the weekend. There is nothing wrong with date nights or sighing in relief after you’ve tucked them in bed for the night after a long day. Mamas need their fill up time as well but what I’m learning is that I cannot separate myself from Phinneus and Tallulah because when I’m with them I am full.

20140113-111143.jpg

20140113-111219.jpg

20140113-111252.jpg

20140113-111323.jpg

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Girls Getaway Turned Mama Moment

  1. Loved all the photographs! They are so much fun to go through! Looks like a superb girls day out! Love all your outfits too! truly cool and stylish! Thanks for sharing 🙂
    Do drop by my blog as well : http://littlebookoffashion.wordpress.com/

  2. Jenny says:

    I totally feel the same way whenever I leave my kids. At first you’re all excited and the next you feel guilty and the next you’re having a blast, it’s like riding a roller coaster. I too believe it is necessary to have your you time and girl time but at the end of the day we are moms and proud to be! Great pics by the way.

  3. zoeraina says:

    Why wasn’t the last photo on insta? I mean, its so cute!!!

  4. katielaurel says:

    Oh how I hear that! Sometimes I literally run into Brandon’s arms begging for an alone trip to Target and find myself texting him constantly and wondering what Ethan’s doing while I’m gone! Our babies are a part of us, they are our hearts walking around!! You gotta take some you time and it doesn’t mean anything other than you need to hear your own thoughts and maybe drink all your own drink without sharing it!!

Leave a Reply

