Potty Training.

I don’t know what I am doing.

IMG_3245

There I said it.

Potty training has been hands down the hardest thing I have done in parenting.

Not sleep training, not solid foods, not even childbirth was this hard. I kid you not.

At least then I got drugs to help me through. ( Yikes- little bit extreme)Β 

I don’t know if Ethan is simply not ready or what the deal is.

Over Christmas we visited California and he was doing so well.

He was making huge strides and lots of progress and we could see the light at the end of the diaper tunnel!

Then we got home and it was like he had forgotten completely how to use the toilet.

He screams when we put him on there and will flat out refuse to go.

Yesterday he held his pee for 7 hours! S E V E N

F I N A L L Y he peed, just a small amount, but he did it.

IMG_0216

I was so proud, we put a sticker on the chart and he got to pick out a candy!

Hooray.. progress!

Then today.

Screams, refusal to pee and 2 accidents in 15 minutes.

As I put him down for his nap today, I took a deep breath and had to remind myself that he won’t be going off to college still using a pacifier ( another post) and he will be potty trained eventually.

I need to remember to breathe, ask for help, and buy my mother a plane ticket to come and do this for me.

Wait, what?

IMG_0212

Any tips … tricks Β … super nannies?

3 thoughts on “Potty Training.

  1. marmargerbil says:

    I am positive it will get better! We started slowly potty training these last couple of months, but definitely aren’t there yet. At first he wasn’t interested at all, but we actually broke down and bought this DVD (I can be pretty anti-screen time) called something like Elmo’s Potty Time. Ever since then he’s been fairly excited about using the toilet like Elmo. Maybe that will help? Good luck!

  2. It’s easy when the time is right πŸ™‚ Relax. One thing you don’t see: adolescents in diapers.

  3. Jenny says:

    I had a similar problem with my little man. We had a miss fire with the potty training and took a step back and tried again a few months later. We kept talking about the potty and how big boys use it but I didn’t push him at all. We tried using those little potties and he hated it so we went straight to the big potty and that worked for us. I did use a reward system but to be honest he didn’t care about it much. Honestly one day he woke up and asked to use the potty and we’ve never looked back. Just be patient and he will go when he is ready. My little guy was almost three before he was potty trained and now he is three and a half and he doesn’t ever have any accidents day or night. Keep your head up it will happen.

Leave a Reply

