” I really wanna lose 3 pounds “

20140205-190728.jpg

Like most people on the planet, I made a New Years Resolution to be healthier.

I’ve never really struggled with my weight ( go ahead, virtually cuss me out) So when, over the past 2 years, I slowly started to pack on some weight, I really panicked, but ignored the problem.

Truth be told, I was the smallest I have ever been 3 months after having my son. Again… I know. But nursing burns so many dang calories I ate like a cow and was still so small.

But the minute I stopped nursing, I kept up my eating habit but didn’t work out like I should have.

Over the holidays my family squished together for a photo outside of Church and I was horrified when I saw it. I didn’t even recognize myself.

I left that day knowing big changes were coming.

With my amazing husbands support I hired a trainer and set out to do the Whole30 plan for all of January.

Let’s talk about whole30.
It’s so hard. It’s so crazy. I saw results in a matter of days.

I have always known that my body hates milk, but giving up all forms of gluten has done wonders for me. I no longer have stomach pains after each meal, the pooch I have been carrying around ( otherwise known as wheat belly) is gone and the mid afternoon headaches that plagued me daily have poof- gone.

Truthfully, I feel better than I have in a long time. I work out with my trainer 2 times per week and I do at least 30 minutes of yoga or Pilates on my off days. I have more energy than I have in years and I generally just feel better. /// Sidebar- if I can make it to the gym when it’s -19 outside, I can do anything. ///

All this to say, I definitely have my cheat moments. Mama likes her Starbucks and the occasional half and half has mysteriously appeared in my coffee & there may have been a pizza slice in there somewhere. But.. I suffered , H A R D. My body had become so adjusted to the clean diet I was doing that it literally rejected these foods.

As of this morning I am down 10 pounds and I’m excited to get my measurements done next week to see my progress!

I think it’s safe to say I am going to stick with the no gluten or dairy lifestyle– something I can’t even believe I am saying. I’m sure there are going to be moments where I cave, but I think in general, I can do this!

Tell me- what were your New Years Resolutions? Have you kept them?

2 thoughts on “” I really wanna lose 3 pounds “

  1. Megan says:

    So happy to hear about your progress and overall happiness with the changes you’ve made! I’m also a nursing mother and definitely eat like one! I’ll need to keep this in mind and put a plan in place for when the little one weans. I’m working on more meditation and yoga this year to help with stress and energy levels 🙂 toddler life takes its toll on a mama!

  2. Jane Martin says:

    Reading your post has inspired me to try the Whole30. I keep hearing about the paleo diet, and I already know the BAD effects that wheat and dairy can have on you, so I’m going to give it a try . Besides, I’ve been trying to lose a few pounds so it couldn’t hurt me to try it…………….right? I just bought the WellFed cookbook. WIsh me luck!!

Leave a Reply

