Potty Vibes.

20140211-224227.jpg

20140211-224203.jpg

So Katie shared a few weeks ago about her adventures in potty training and it really spoke to me. I feel honored to blog along side such an inspiring mama but more than that I’m blessed beyond measure to call her my friend.
Katie and I were destined to be friends for a long long time but only officially met when our boys were babies. I instantly clicked with her and knew that I wanted more of her in my life! Over the last two and half years our boys have grown, I’ve had another baby, and she has made a major move across the country to Ohio and we have become closer! We are both major texters so we text all the time and are able to openly share the deep deep places of our heart with each other. She’s one of those people that teaches me, encourages me, laughs with me, supports me, and always gives me that reassuring pat on the back that I’m doing a good job when I feel as though I’m sinking. She had been a godsend in my life and I can say pretty confidently (right?!) that she feels the same way about me. Friendship is tricky and for me it feels as though it’s been trickier that it is for most. My heart has been crushed by a best friend wayyyy more so than by any boys. Girls can be brutal but they can also be exactly what you need. Katie is one of the good ones.

Shoutout homie// I love ya//

Wow that was a tangent!

So anyways all that to be said when I read her words I realized that:
1) all us mamas are just as lost as the next on the potty training game
2) all kids eventually figure it out
And
3) I needed to get my booty in gear and stop being fearful about it.
So we bought a little potty, we talked about using it, we took it out of the box, we put it back in the box, I asked him about using it, he replied, “tomorrow” and on and on the story goes. I was sorta bummed out and discouraged and I just kept hearing, “when they are ready they are ready” I backed off and then something magical happened! Phinn woke up this morning with a totally dry diaper and asked to use his potty right away! I was in shock-but.he.did.it!! I couldn’t believe my eyes! He took care of business like a pro. He danced around shouting how awesome he was and we took a ton of photos to commemorate such a momentous moment! So for the rest of the day he wore underwear and peed in the potty like a champ without a single accident- except for during his nap when I put him in a diaper. I felt so proud of him for his accomplishment and he felt so proud of himself! That was the best part! It was all him! He was ready and he felt confident!
I in no way think we’ve mastered this but we sure are off to a good start! Who knows what tomorrow holds but I’m excited to find out!

20140211-224337.jpg

20140211-224405.jpg

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Potty Vibes.

  1. Joslyn says:

    Oh my lanta, I can’t imagine how fun that much be for him! Way to go Phinn!..

  2. Katie Hunt says:

    This is SO huge Phinn!! Well done!! ( You too mama!) Now don’t EVER go back! Stick with this!!

    Thank you for all of the love, all of the gushy stuff. If I wrote a post about you it would be equally as gushy. Love you sweet friend.

Leave a Reply

